Stamp Stories from around the world

The native states of India, also known as feudatory or princely states, were typically vassals under a local or regional ruler who owed allegiance to the British Raj. There were about 675 native states in all but many were not parts of British India proper because they never become possessions of the British Crown. Rather, they were tied to it in a system of subsidiary alliances. A total of 40 different states issued stamps prior to 1947. Bamra (or Bamanda) was a princely state in the Eastern States, Orissa States Agency, Bengal (present-day Odisha State). Raja Sudhal Deo ruled over the state from 1869-1903, issuing the first stamps in 1888. Todays stamp is from the first issue from 1888. The face value is ½ Anna. CV is 80 $.