Stamp Stories from around the world

The native states of India, also known as feudatory or princely states, were typically vassals under a local or regional ruler who owed allegiance to the British Raj. There were about 675 native states in all but many were not parts of British India proper because they never become possessions of the British Crown. Rather, they were tied to it in a system of subsidiary alliances. A total of 38 different states issued stamps prior to 1900. Bhor was a princely state in the Kolhapur Residency and Decca States Agency (presently part of Bombay State). Raja Pandit Shankar Rao (ruling from 1871-1922) issued the first stamps in 1879.The stamps were hand stamped on native paper that varied between very thick and thin. They were issued imperforate, without gum. Todays stamp is from the first issue in 1879. It has the face value of ½ Anna and a CV of 4 $.